Portugal progresses as Ronaldo misses elbow
- On June 25th, of the FIFA World Cup 2018, the match was a draw between Portugal and Iran but it wasn’t fair according to Iran coach.
- Iran coach, Carlos Queiroz said Ronaldo should have been sent off for incident with defender Morteza Pouraliganji.
- Ronaldo booked after a VAR review at the 84th minute for catching the Iran defender.
- An elbow signifies a Red Card, but Ronaldo received just a Yellow Card.
- Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo simply walked away, leaving Iran’s Morteza Pouraliganji on the ground.
- “I don’t want to talk too much, it’s about my country and a player. I know it’ll be a war against me,” said Queiroz, who coached his native Portugal at the 2010 finals in South Africa.
- He said, “ But the reality is you stopped the game for VAR, there is an elbow. An elbow is a red card in the rules. In the rules, it doesn’t say if it is (Lionel) Messi or Ronaldo.”
- He repeated, “It was a red card and in my opinion, Mr. Infantino and FIFA, everybody agreed that VAR is not going well. That’s the reality, there’s a lot of complaints.”
- Portugal finished runners-up behind Spain, as Iran fell just short of reaching the knockout phase for the first time at a World Cup.